2020-02-26 00:00:00.0

LUSAKA, ZAMBIA – With International Women’s Day fast approaching, it is almost that time of year when the achievements of Zambia’s most inspirational women are celebrated at the annual Stanbic Anakazi Women of the Year Awards.

The awards were created to honour exceptional women making outstanding contributions in their respective fields.

Last year, more than 120 women were nominated from a variety of sectors including agriculture, digital technology, education, engineering and mining.

Head of PR and Communications, Chanda Katongo said: “We backed the Women of the Year Awards last year because we wanted to honour the exceptional contributions women make in the workplace and Zambia’s development.”

Se explained that Stanbic had always been a strong supporter of equality between the genders, which is why it made ‘respect for all’ one of its growth pillars.

“As an equal opportunity bank, we will continue to do our part in eliminating the unique barriers and negative stereotypes women face in society by not only celebrating women making shockwaves in their fields but also creating banking services like Anakazi Banking that support their personal growth ambitions,” she said.

Under this preposition, we recognise that businesses at SME level tend to fail because of lack of basic training in entrepreneurship. Through Anakazi we provide this training, as well as other benefits like easier access to finance for businesswomen.”

Anakazi Banking has attracted over 8,000 members since its inception in 2017.

Addressing the capacity crowd during last year’s Women of the Year Awards ceremony, Former Minister of Finance Hon. Margaret Mwanakatwe, who was Guest of Honour, said that through initiatives like Stanbic’s Anakazi Banking, more women could empower themselves and other women to grow their careers and businesses and contribute positively to the economy.

Dr Sharon Kapembwa, Medical Women Association of Zambia President, was named 2019 Woman of the Year; the Chairman's Special Award went to Zambia Air Force (ZAF) pilot Captain Nina Tapula, and the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Sister Keiran, head of Roma Girls' School.

This year’s awards ceremony will be held on March 6, 2020 at the Intercontinental Hotel in Lusaka. Tickets are K500.


Online Banking

Advanced tools search